In-Laws

7 07 2009

Summer is in full swing. July has started off with its wet-heat, with lower tempuratures than June but higher-sweat levels. This invariably means tha majority of outdoor activities are a no-no, except for maybe a dip in the big ol’ sea. Summer also means vacations, visits, meeting relatives and get-togethers. Case in hand, my in-laws are visiting.

My in-laws are also family relatives. Thus, there is a prior style/method of meeting/interacting with them. That, I feel, has changed. How, I don’t know, but it has. And then there’s a bit of the cultural aspects of the whole thing. I’ve lived in Oman my whole wee life. They’ve never lived out of their native country. Recently, some job-opportunities have them moving to Oman, but the current hols are before they get into their jobs (yes, both of ’em). So they’re in their style, I’m in my swing. And the poor li’l wifey is in a swinyle (swing+style, duh). She had a whole year to get into the swing, but now she is getting back into the style, old habits die hard, kinda thingy. But it’s all swell. Makes me laugh with the (not really) poor Gori Wife.

inlaws and outlaws are different - outlaws are wanted

pic ... umm.. err.. unrelated

So, our li’l place is all noisy and full. Our usual family-of-four has temporarily swollen to 10 people. The oldest one is my mum’s 70-year-old aunt. The youngest is my sister’s 1-and-a-half year old son. It’s a free-for-all ruckus, and a fun one at that.

So, I’ll be off for a li’l time. I have a few posts in the scheduled queue, which should come out if WordPress doesn’t go all snarky on me. I’ll also be handing over the reins to our very own Queen of Tarts (who we first met here). She does have a blog, but in all of her mighty twisted-ness, she don’t let me to link to it!! I think she has links with Kelley!!! Both are from down under, from wayy out there and have an affinity for things sharp and dangerous!!

So here, to me, off for a bit of in-law-management. Wish me luck!

-FK

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 07 2009
Davis

I predict you’ll need it (the luck, that is)

8 07 2009
M Waqas

nice post…visit my site

8 07 2009
The Fark Knight

Nice site, but you’ve got too many not-well-done blogs. I wonder why?!
N’ thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

