’tis getting hot in here… so take off (uh uh uh uh)

30 05 2009

My attempt at paraphrasing..*face palm*

After forgiving me for that headline, forgive me for destroying all credibility of my cellphone’s camera and my photo taking abilities by posting the following:

temp_thu28may

So, this was on Thursday at around 12:30 am-ish, returning from work. And whilst the temperature* was an ass-whooping 52 Celsius, I was more interested in the lowest temperature. According to the graphing abilities of our ride, from 12 am to about 7am it was 44 C, which, I might add, is not cool.

Imagine all the Europeans brought here for just one season, har har. If temperatures of 36 Celsius are a ‘exceptionally extreme heat wave’, I wonder if they’ll die just seeing the temperature readout.

Speaking of Europeans, what’s with the lack of water-activities here. I mean, in Britain, it got to 36 C, and half the country stripped to bare-minimum required clothes and splashed in fountains everywhere, why can’t we do that here? Is there some law against splashing in the fountain?

Not that we have many splash in, but we do have some nice ones. Esp. the ones at the Burj Al-Sahwa park, or Rose Gardens’ (not the waterfall though. I’m in awe of there those water pumps’ pumping power). And then there is the obvious lack of water parks, fresh water-knee high pools, openable fire-hydrants (would the water there be cool, or boiling like residental from-overhead-tank-tap water?) or even a simple pier that allows running and jumping into  reasonably deep water at the beach. God, we have no diving facilities at ‘any’ of the most-visited public beaches even. The cliff at Qantab used to do that, but I haven’t seen what’s become of it in the recent past, after all the development n all.

Booo… I guess it’s going to be Sultan center and City Center after all…. booring….

-FK

*temperature, like all other things, is variable as per many factors and methods that can be used for measuring it. The temp as displayed by my trusty (white-colored) ride is by no means incorrect, nor misleading, but it is not what would be called ‘standardized’ reading by the Met. dept. They have a set of procedures and processed that dictate where the thermometer can be placed, how high from the ground, in shade/in direct sunlight/in a windy area/in an area with lot of reflective surfaces/in and around a black box etc etc etc. If I had a black set of wheels, or heavily tinted glass, I’m sure it’ be a tad bit higher.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

