Company 47

5 04 2009

Okay,  so what I actually started this blog for.  If one was to start at one end of the Omani Labor Law (OLL) and read through, and in the other hand hold a policy document of any sufficiently large company of Oman and compare the two, I think there shall be enough material to fuel a blog till the year 4112 AD when WordPress is no longer pronounced as such and instead has been transmuted into squarlks and bleerps, when the internet no longer exists on servers, but instead inside heads and minds (we shall have 13 elders to keep alive always. They shall be the DNS Root Servers. Each Elder shall be living on his/her own planet, doing nothing but resolving addresses for us lesser minions). I digress!

So there are going to be numerous discrepancies. My workplace, Company (which I shall arbitrarily name) 47  (yeah, I like Hitman somewhat, but not the movie!) is sufficiently large to fit the sufficiently large category. And daily you see things happening, which, I think, in another society, another world, another dimension (in which ‘normal’ laws would apply) would be the basis for tonnes of complaints, lawsuits and legal wranglings. Over here? It’s all ‘Bah!, Whatever!’

e.g. we issue travel tickets to employees. If the employee is not eligible, it comes out of his/her salary. 47 billed an employee R.O. 200 for a flight. The travel agency, later, sent over an invoice of R.O. 190. The dearest low-level-lowly accountant responsible for updating the system with the difference, does NOT credit the employee, breezily states “This goes into company profit” and earns a spiteful glare from me. Too bad he didn’t vanish or the system didn’t correct itself as a result. Oh, and he earns this post & tonnes of bad karma.

OLL, where art thou?

Moral Labour Law, where are thou?

-TFK

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 06 2009
$124.35/hr « The Fark Knight

[…] current dilemma/pissed-offness stems from a query whether I’m being paid by my company (company 47) for the time I spend on my seat? Am I being paid for the work that I do? Is my payscale determined […]

23 06 2009
“To be Pissed or not to be Pissed” « The Fark Knight

[…] current dilemma/pissed-offness stems from a query whether I’m being paid by my company (company 47) for the time I spend on my seat? Am I being paid for the work that I do? Is my payscale determined […]

Leave a Reply

